Show Me a Hero

When the Golden Globes awarded Oscar Isaac with Best Actor in a TV Movie/Miniseries, I said to myself, “I should probably see that.”  I’m so glad I did.  It turns out the show depicts Yonkers, NY in the late 1980s.  I was a small child growing up about 30 minutes away at the time.

Show Me a Hero was directed by Paul Haggis, who wrote Blunt Talk, which you know I love.  I watched all six episodes in one day.  Since they originally aired two hourlong episodes at a time, each pair has an accompanying message from the director, something he also did for each episode of Blunt Talk.

Actor Alfred Molina, writer/executive producers William F. Zorzi, David Simon, director/executive producer Paul Haggis and actress LaTaya Richardson
Actor Alfred Molina, from left, writer/executive producers William F. Zorzi, David Simon, director/executive producer Paul Haggis and actress LaTaya Richardson speak onstage during the “Show Me a Hero” panel at the HBO 2015 Summer TCA Tour held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Thursday, July 30, 2015 in Beverly Hills, Calif. (Photo by Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP)

Here is a really good straight to the point interview from the creator, David Simon, who is also the creator of “The Wire.”  (Just a hint towards the future: his next series for HBO is James Franco’s “The Deuce,” directed by Michelle MacLaren, and with Dominique Fishback who played Billie.)

The phrase the title is built from: “Show me a hero, and I’ll show you a tragedy.”

Leave a Reply

